They Don’t Really Care About Us

Ever since the death of Michael Jackson, every store and bus I enter play his songs at high volume.  I’ve even found myself watching his videos on U Tube.  It was there that I heard his song and watched the video for “They Don’t Really Care About Us”.  The version I watched depicts Michael as a prisoner and shows him with fellow prisonmates in a cafeteria pounding their fists on the table as they make the statment, “all I wanna say is that they don’t really care about us”.  

Some of the lyrics are…

I’m tired of bein’ the victim of hate

You’re rapin’ me of my pride

Oh, for God’s sake, I look to heaven to fufill it’s prophecy….Set me free

Am I invisible because you ignore me?

I’m tired of being the victim of shame

All I wanna say is that they don’t really care about us

As I watch this video, my mind turns to street kids and I envision them dancing in the streets with the king of pop, declaring that no one cares and all they want is to be set free.  With this image clear in my mind, I start to pray; “Lord, may we, the people of God, not be the “they” in this song”.

Video Link:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FAi3dJIJwgI

Leave a Reply

