God’s Image & Intentions

A few months ago I read “The Schack” by WM Paul YOung.  I have been pondering several quotes that I wrote in my journal and how they pertain to the marginalized kids we work with in Xela.

“A bird’s not defined by being grounded by by his ability to fly.  Remember this, humans are not definded by their limitations, but by the intentions that I have for them; not by what they seem to be, but by everything it means to be created in my image.” (p.100)

God’s intentions and God’s image…that is what we long to communicate to the kids.  We want them to have their identity based in their identity in Christ; their dreams to soar just like the intentions God has for each one of them.

“I want all of you & every part of you & your day.  I want to be the center of a mobile, where everything in your life is connected to me but moves with the wind, in & out and back & forth, in an incredible dance of being.” (207)

May we all enter into the incredible dance of being that God has for us!

Leave a Reply

