Mi Cajita de Dulces (My Candy Box)

I’ll sell you a lollipop for un quetzal – my stomach is growling, a cup of atol* would curb my hunger

Or perhaps a cookie for Q2.50 – tonight I need to prepare supper for myself and my 2 brothers

I also sell gum – I save every quetzal to pay the rent for my room (Q400/mo = $50 USD)

Here’s a cigarette if you like – I need to buy a new cajita de dulces; the police took my brother’s and he has nothing to sell…it’s been a month

Please don’t pass me by and not buy something – mi cajita de dulces es mi vida y esperanza (my candy box is my life and hope) 

*atol is a porridge made of corn or rice

Leave a Reply

